Kimberly Lee Ord

KIMBERLY LEE ORD

Name: Kimberly Lee Ord

Age: 52

You live where: Mount Union (Hill Valley)

From where originally: Huntingdon (Piney Ridge)

Educated at: Central High School, Computer Learning Network, Juniata College, Purdue University Global

Family: Mom and dad, Susan and Donald; brother and sister, Rick and April; sons, Sean (and Anna) and Damian (and Danni); stepdaughters, Tara and Catherine; grandchildren, Aurora, Keanu, Carter, Alex, Ryley, Maya, Kevin, Demitri, Sierra and Marina; grandmother, Beulah; and many, many more.

Job: Full-time college student and volunteer with the American Red Cross and the Huntingdon County Emergency Management Agency

Job’s reward: Lots of free time

What I hate about my job: Low pay!

Very first job was: Altoona Mirror delivery Kid (and in my teens worked for my dad as a mechanic at his boat shop)

Favorite food: It’s a toss-up between lobster and lasagna

Pets: Odie, a 10-year-old black Lab mix; Angel, a 1-year-old rat terrier/Chihuahua mix; Lincoln, a 6-year-old ferret; Squeak, an 18-year-old cockatiel; and Smokey, an 11-year-old stray outdoor cat.

Hero: My late husband, Kevin

Hobbies: Fishing, gardening, camping

Pet peeves: Grumpy, negative people and drama queens

You collect: Coins, currency, and everything Stephen King

Best friend: Angel, my dog!

You would like to have witnessed what event in history: Watch the very first steam paddle wheel boat.

Event that changed your life: The death of my husband

Your scariest moment: Bitten by rattlesnake in Badlands National Park, South Dakota, in 1973, when I was just 6 years old

Your first memory: Walking under the drive-thru tree at Redwood National Forest at 3 years old and seeing Mount Rushmore during the same trip.

Trait inherited from parents: Determination

Piece of advice that you live by: “You can, you should, and if you’re brave enough, you will” — Stephen King

Who needs a hug: Doesn’t everyone?

Who needs a kick in the pants: My roommate Donna

Favorite reading/author: Stephen King

Favorite spot on earth: Fishing at Raystown Lake

Website you visit most: Purdue University Global Online Campus (Facebook second)

Would like concert tickets to see: Ozzy Osbourne or Jeff Dunham

One bad habit: Putting up with stupid people!

Three items on your bucket list:

1. Get my master of science degree

2. See the volcanos of Hawaii

3. Own a Lamborghini (or at least my dad’s 1966 GTO convertible)

Five minutes with: I’d give up hours of my time for my grandkids to spend five minutes each with their Pop-Pop again.

What skill or lesson would you like to learn: How to bottle the energy my rat terrier/Chihuahua mix dog has so I can have more!

What would people find surprising about you: I am nice!

How would you like to be remembered: As a grandma who got her college degrees.

(0)comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
PLEASE TURN OFF YOUR CAPS LOCK.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.