The Huntingdon County Sports Hall of Fame’s 22nd annual induction banquet will be held Saturday, June 8, at the Smithfield Fire Hall.

There are tickets still available, but interested persons should note that the deadline for purchasing them is Wednesday, May 29. Tickets can be reserved in advance and then picked up and paid for at the door. There will be no sale of non-reserved tickets at the door.

Tickets remain priced at $25 per person and include a buffet-style meal, commemorative keepsake booklet highlighting the achievements of the inductees and the evening’s program. Parking is free and the facility is handicap accessible.

Tickets may be purchased at any office of Community State Bank (Orbisonia, Mount Union, Smithfield and Saxton) or by contacting one of these members of the organization’s executive board (telephone numbers in parentheses): Huntingdon, Chuck Streightiff (599-4184); Juniata Valley, Don MacEachern (669-4080); Mount Union, Don Fortson (599-8544) or Terry Bowser (542-4892); Southern Huntingdon, Denny Scott (448-2691) or Tom Streightiff (448-3760); and Tussey Mountain, Stanley Gresko (658-3774) or Dennis “Butch” Rourke (635-3215).

The social hour kicks off the activities at 4 p.m., followed at five o’clock by the team recognition and presentation of the third annual Dennis “Butch” Rourke Award to an outstanding senior student-athlete who wrote the judged winning essay. The dinner is expected to be served around six o’clock followed by the induction of the five-member Class of 2019 at seven o’clock.

The current program format has been used since 2016 and finished no later than 8:15 p.m. each time.

Outstanding senior awards go to the top male and female athletes of each school served by the Huntingdon County Sports Hall of Fame — Huntingdon, Juniata Valley, Mount Union, Southern Huntingdon and Tussey Mountain. Those honorees are chosen by their respective schools and will be presented photo-engraved plaques at their school’s awards assembly. One of those seniors will also receive the third annual Dennis “Butch” Rourke Award based on his/her submitted essay and be presented a $250 check at the induction banquet.

This year’s team recognition will be given to the undefeated 1987-88 Tussey Mountain Titans wrestling team.

Inductees with the Class of 2019 include Jim Foster, the late Fred Heffner, Terri Lessley and Gary Shope, along with Juniata Valley at-large selection Bill Peters.


Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.